The Weavers’ Company Silver Medal

Award winners

The Company’s Silver Medal is awarded in recognition of an individual’s contribution to the weaving industry in the field of technology, management, education or the craft of weaving. The winner of the Silver Medal in 2022 was Adam Mansell.

Adam joined the textile industry 25 years ago and has worked across a wide number of trade bodies. Having represented all aspects of the fashion and textile supply chain, he now leads the team at UKFT and has overseen the expansion of UKFT’s activity and membership. The organisation represents a wide range of UK fashion and textile businesses, helps hundreds of brands with their export strategy and is the government appointed Sector Skills Body for the industry. Adam has also led on the development of the manufacturing membership of the organisation.

Adam also represents the industry on a wide range of panels and groups. He is Chair of the Future Fashion Factory, a £5 million industry research project and a Board Member at the University of Leeds’ School of Design Industrial Advisory Board. He is Vice President of Ginetex, the international care labelling organisation. Adam is on the board of trustees at CAPITB Trust, an independent charity providing support and funding for “people employed or about to be employed in the British clothing industry”. He also sits on the advisory board of Textiles 2030 and the steering committee for the Institute for Positive Fashion.

Previous Winners of the Silver Medal

2021 Annette Poulton Education, Weaving
2020 Dr Mike Burton Ph.D Carpet Weaving Technology
2019 Sheila-Mary Carruthers, Carruthers Associates Textile Design
2018 Jan Shenton, Loughborough University Education, Weaving
2017 Sinclair Paterson, Sinclair Duncan Textiles Management & Technology
2016 John Maisey, Stephen Walters Technology
2015 Christopher Bailey, Burberry Design & Management
2014 Philippa Brock, Central St Martins Education, Weaving
2013 Donald John MacKay Weaving
2012 Ron Smart Weaving
2011 Roger and Fay Oates Carpet Weaving
2010 Peter Ackroyd MBE Textile Industry
2009 Mary Restieaux Design & craft weaver
2008 Professor Chris Carr, University of Manchester Education & Research
2007 Emma Sewell & Harriet Wallace-Jones (Jointly) Design & Education
2006 Mr David Tooth, Silk Industries Ltd Management
2005 Mrs Lucienne Day Design & Education
2004 Mr James Sugden Management
2002 Mr Keith Wilson Technical Textiles
2001 Mrs Eileen Ellis Design & Education
2000 Mrs Marjorie Catlow Education & Research
1999 Edmund Gartside, Shiloh Healthcare plc Contribution to Weaving Industry
1998 Christopher Antich, C&J Antich & Sons Ltd. Management
1997 John Hodges, Pennine Weavers Management
1996 Prof C Maddox, Scottish College of Textiles Education
1995 John Corrin, Allied Textile Companies plc Contribution to Weaving Industry
1994 Leonard St. John Tibbitts Service to Textile Industry
1993 Frederick H Tattersall Management
1992 Walter S Sondhelm Technical Management
1991 William Holden, Dorma CV Home Furnishings Management
1990 EM Stirk, Derbyshire College of Higher Ed. Education/Narrow Fabrics
1989 P Collingwood Woven Structures
1988 HA Cann, Coates Viyella Technology
1987 A Ormerod, Textile Consultant Management
1986 RJ Humphries, Humphries Weaving Co. Craft
1985 K Greenwood Textile Science
1984 T Mawdsley, Carrington Manufacturing Weaving Machinery
1983 DJ Walters, Sudbury Silk Mills Management
1982 G Jones, Fielden House Productivity Centre Management, Supervisory Development & Training
1981 R Marks, Bolton Institute Education
1980 C Atkinson, Bentley Weaving Machinery Co Weaving Machinery
1979 JD Griffith, Bonas Machine Co Weaving Machinery
The Weavers' Company Crest

Copyright © 2022 The Weavers' Company. All Rights Reserved.